Conducted by the Jacksonville Area Golf Association (JAGA)

FOR RELEASE: Saturday, July 22, 2017

1 – U Minn Woon 212 (-4)
T2 – Jeff Golden 216 (even)
T2 – Graham Nichols 216 (even)
T4 – Davis Roche 217 (+1)
T4 – Mark Spencer 217 (+1)
T4 – Osborn Theam 217 (+1)
7 – Toby Ragland 218 (+2)


JACKSONVILLE, FL – U Minn Woon of Jacksonville broke away from a tight pack on the back nine at host Jacksonville Golf and Country Club on Saturday to win the 56th Jacksonville Amateur Championship by three shots over Jeff Golden of Jacksonville and Graham Nichols of Timuquana Country Club.

2017 Jacksonville Amateur Championship Winner – U Minn Woon

Woon, a 22-year-old graduate of The Bolles School in 2013 and Farleigh Dickinson University this spring recorded seven pars and birdies on Nos. 14 and 18 on his incoming nine to shoot a 2-under-par 70. His total was 4-under 212 for the three trips around the 6,892-yard layout.

With his mother, Karyne, following him every step of the way, Woon collected his first trophy since winning three college events while playing for Teaneck, N.J.-based Farleigh Dickinson. The Malaysian-born Woon came to the United States six years ago and hopes to turn professional in the future. He plays out of St. Johns Golf and Country Club in St. Augustine.

Golden was in ninth place, three shots back starting the day. Nichols, a Wake Forest student, was eleventh and five shots out of the lead. They posted rounds of 72 and 70, respectively, to finish at even-par 216.

Several of the 36-hole contenders had a rough go of things on Saturday. First- and second-round leader Toby Ragland (77) had an incoming nine of 40 to dash his title hopes. The former University of Florida golfer finished solo seventh.

Another Bolles graduate, Osborn Theam, was one shot off the lead when the day began but drifted down the leader board with a back-nine 40 of his own to finish fourth.

Of the five golfers who were two off the overnight lead, only Mark Spencer could mount a charge. The 2017 Underwood Cup team member jumped into the fray with birdies on the sixth and 10th holes. Bogeys on 12, 16 and 17 sunk his chances. A 74 resulted in a T4.

Davis Roche (72) of the host club and Valdosta State rounded out the fourth-place finishers.

Defending champion Philip Loeb added his third consecutive 74 to place T13.

Former Amateur Championship winners Duke Butler IV (2009) shot 76 to finish T8, while Mike Bodney (1990) and David Anthony (2006) both placed T15.

The Championship was conducted by the Jacksonville Area Golf Association (JAGA).

The rotation of future host venues includes Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, Sawgrass Country Club, Deerwood Country Club, Marsh Landing Country Club, San Jose Country Club, Timuquana Country Club and Queen’s Harbour Yacht & Country Club.


Established in 1954, JAGA celebrates its 64th year in 2017. It is a not-for-profit 501 (c) (4) corporation comprised of over 40-member golf clubs located in the Northeast Florida area. JAGA’s mission is to promote golf and goodwill through tournaments and related events and activities. It conducts 10 tournaments, including five championship events and five others that feature team formats. JAGA manages a scholarship program that annually provides college funding for 26 area students. Since 1974 the program has generated approximately $1.7 million in financial aid to approximately 300 students.


Jeff Adams
JAGA VP-Tournaments
Cell: 904-607-6142